Louisiana law does not prohibit residents from obtaining permits from other states to transport in those states. Louisiana requires residents to have a Concealed Weapon Permit (CHP) to carry concealed weapons. They must also pass a state-approved firearms training course and be 21 years of age or older. A permit or license from a reciprocity state is also acceptable while in Louisiana.
Not only must you be at least 21 years old, but you must also be a resident of Louisiana. You are not allowed to receive a concealed carry permit if you are not a resident of Louisiana. You must get your concealed carry permit from any state in which you are a resident, and you will need to follow that state's rules when it comes to a concealed carry permit. Louisiana is an open transportation state with permission to do so without a state permit.
Louisiana residents who are military personnel can carry hidden objects when in possession of a Louisiana State ID or driver's license. The Louisiana Concealed Weapons Permit is valid for five years, after which you must apply for a renewal permit. While many states have Texas LTC reciprocity and accept Texas LTC, that doesn't mean they comply with all Texas gun laws. Always check with the Louisiana DPS if you have any questions about a firearms course that meets state standards for concealed firearms.
The State of Louisiana requires that you be at least 21 years of age before you apply for a permit to conceal carry a gun. Non-resident permits are not available, except for those in the military who have Louisiana State identification, either an in-state driver's license or a state-issued identification card. While there are a few more requirements, if you meet the above parameters, you may be able to successfully apply for a Texas LTC. Louisiana residents should always contact the Department of Public Safety (DPS) for the latest concealed transportation information.
The Department of Public Safety must distribute concealed carry permits to eligible applicants, making Louisiana a minor state. Let's go over the basics of Texas LTC reciprocity and smooth out any wrinkles in your understanding of where in a U. Louisiana issues concealed gun permits in the state with the entire process carried out by the Department of Public Safety. Louisiana will honor any concealed carry permit from any other state as long as the person is 21 years of age or older and IF that state ALSO recognizes the Louisiana permit.
However, as long as you have a knife to carry it open or concealed, you must respect all state restrictions on gun placement. Concealed Coalition certified instructors will teach you the applicable laws in your state and how to safely and legally discharge and carry a firearm.