If you have a concealed weapons license, you cannot carry in a place of business that earns 51% or more of your income from the sale or service of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises. Your concealed carry education course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. Handguns were the only type of firearm that required a state license to carry them in most public places in Texas. DPS will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving the complete application package.
For example, it is illegal to carry a concealed handgun if the person has the gun in sight, or if they are involved in criminal activity (other than a Class C traffic violation), or if they are prohibited from possessing a firearm or are a member of a criminal street gang. If your license is lost or stolen, you must notify the Department of Public Safety within 30 days of the change of address. A license is also considered a valid form of identification when issuing a ballot and grants expedited access to the Texas Capitol. All applicants for an original license to carry a firearm (LTC) must submit their fingerprints to DPS as part of the complete LTC application.
Licensees will simply apply online and submit supporting documents for discounted rates or special conditions. Texas is a constitutional permitless or transportation state, which means that as long as you meet the following requirements, you can carry a concealed or open gun in a holster without needing a Texas concealed weapon license. To ensure that your license is issued promptly, it is very important that you provide the information requested for review. To renew your Texas concealed weapons license, you must first complete a firearms proficiency course within 6 months prior to the renewal date of the application for the first or second renewal and the renewal application date or the previous renewal application date, for a third or later renewal.
renewal, to ensure that the licensee is not required to complete the course more than once in a 10-year period. Greg Abbott agrees; a spokeswoman for his office said in January that the governor believes Texas should not impose any charges on licenses to carry guns. A duplicate or modified license expires on the date the duplicate license would have expired. Under the new law, (expected to take effect in September 2002) Texans would no longer need that license to carry a gun.
DWI is classified as at least one Class B misdemeanor, and you are not eligible to obtain a license for five years after a Class A or Class B misdemeanor conviction.